I’m A Hillsong College Graduate!

12314723_10207090425792443_9176454081030127901_o

It’s official. I’m no longer a student at Hillsong International Leadership College.

These last 3 years have been nothing short of miraculous, indescribable, immensely blessed, challenging and rewarding.

I’ve experienced God in ways I never would have imagined, and my relationship with Jesus is stronger than ever.

I only came to Australia for ‘one year’ of college (as many say),

but now it’s been 3 years and I’m planning to stay another year and a half to get a Bachelor of Theology with AlphaCrucis College to prepare for whatever God has for me in Africa.

These last 1000+ days I wouldn’t trade for anything.

So now what?  My life doesn’t stop when I graduate Hillsong College. Actually, it’s just beginning.

As God’s been speaking to me the last couple of months about trusting Him with this next unknown season of life, I’ve never been so encouraged, so rooted, and so anchored in Him. Sure, I only know the next small step to take, but with Him at my side that’s all I ever need.

When some people think of transitioning in life, moving on or letting go, jumping into the unknown, or people who just have no clue what to even do next, they can easily give way to fear, unbelief, and distrust. And that’s what the enemy would love, right? However, this is not God’s will for us. In Psalm 1 He says WHATEVER you do PROSPERS! That’s a promise for the one who delights in God and what He says and meditates and trusts His Word.

A couple of months ago God spoke to me about letting Him lead me, with my eyes closed, because He was leading me into surprises, bringing me gifts, and He assured me He will give me the best. This calmed my spirit so that I no longer was worried about what the next season would look like, and I didn’t have to have all the answers. In fact, NOT knowing is a glorious thing! Because it only ever draws me closer to Him.

So yesterday on my first day of break as a Hillsong College graduate, as I looked out over the ocean, God clearly spoke these words to me – and I pray that this would encourage you – especially if you’re transitioning into something different and you’re a bit afraid.

beach.jpg

Deep Waters

Deep waters is where I am calling you

I know you like the water you’re in…

because you can see the bottom and you feel safe.

I know the deep water looks scary…

because you cannot see –

it is something you don’t currently know.

But I want to take you into 

new revelation

new knowledge

new depths

new experiences 

of Me and My Truth ,

My Son and Holy Spirit.

When it gets deep and you become unsure and feel far from safety-

remember I am your anchor

I will not abandon you. 

It will feel different.

Don’t live based on what you feel 

but on your convictions of who I am and

who I’ve always been 

because I’m not changing. 

I will teach you to swim

I will strengthen you

and I will give you joy in the deep waters. 

FullSizeRender.jpg

“The Lord watches over the way of the righteous” -Psalm 1

He is in your tomorrow, your next month, and your next year, and you can trust Him when you can’t see. Allow yourself to leap, allow yourself to close your eyes and be surprised, allow yourself to be okay not knowing everything. God is up to something grand, I promise.

3 thoughts on “I’m A Hillsong College Graduate!

  1. Hi, I’m really blessed by reading this blog and I really feel God calling e to do the same and it’s just irresistible. I just want to ask, is it possible to work part time because I’m struggling a bit financially. Is there enough time to work after studies and earn enough to pay rent every 2 weeks? What is it like studying there? God bless you more, I hope that I too, in God’s time will be able to study there 🙂

    • Hi, Hannah!
      That’s incredible, you should definitely come!!!
      Yes, most college students get jobs and work up to 20 hours a week, and from experience I can say yes, you can definitely earn enough money to live on while you’re here : )

  2. Hello Maria! I love your blog, your creative mind and how you put it into words! So congrats on the experience! Im starting the Bachelors in Theology with AlphaCrucis College at the Hills Campus December 2016. So I guess I will see you then, I also feel called to moving to South Africa after graduation! I currently live in OK with my husband! So we are excited about Hillsong and the overall experience and fellowship! I would love love to Skype with you! You can follow me on Insta too! My user name is “Givesarahcoffee1993” Lets chat! I feel like you and I have so much in common as far as ministry and where God is leading us! 🙂

Leave a Reply

